A Thought About Travelling

Travelling. Just what does it mean? To some, it means simply visiting a place that is unfamiliar to you, and I suppose that would be the dictionary definition as well. To me, travelling has always gone hand-in-hand with exploration and it’s for this reason that I’ve decided I probably won’t be using my entire year’s visa in Australia.

I know, I just love dropping bombs.

It has been the fashion to spend 6 months to 2 years ‘travelling’ Australia for a while now and, in its own sense, there’s nothing inherently wrong with that. Since coming here however, I’ve really had my eyes opened as to what that fashionable ‘travelling’ experience is all about…

…and it isn’t good. At least not for me. Let me explain…

As I mentioned at the start, the word ‘travelling’ to me denotes exploration – to get off the beaten track, to move away from what you know, to try and see places few people have seen before. Maybe that sounds a little Jean-Luc Picard, but I guess I like the sense of adventure. The best times I’ve had in Australia so far have been on the islands (Fraser & Magnetic. I sense Tasmania will be incredible too) because, even though they are popular tour spots, they aren’t inherently ‘touristy’ areas. Magnetic Island especially, with its walks and trails through the mountainous regions, oozes adventurous influence that I found to be thoroughly exhilarating because it gave me exactly the travelling experience I was looking for. And that is the issue I’m having with Australia – the people here aren’t really travelling.

Let me break down the general demographic for you: 85-90% of the people travelling Australia are under 25. And what do under-25ers like to do the most? Drink, have sex, take drugs and party. Of course, that doesn’t apply to all under-25ers and it also doesn’t deny that I like to let my hair down every now and then too, as an over-25er. But, generally speaking, the people that come to spend 6 months to 2 years here treat it like an extended holiday in Magaluf. Yes, they move around the country, yes they have to work to support their lifestyle, but do those types of people appreciate the trails, the walks, the hikes and the culture? Simply put – no. Not at all.

I mentioned in my post about Magnetic Island that a lot of people will tell you to only spend a day there because there isn’t much to see. I can confirm, with complete and total confidence, that that is utterly bogus. In fact it’s bullshit.

Magnetic Island is awash with wildlife, flora and fauna that you most likely have never seen, mountain trails and walks through forests and old World War II outposts. If you hire a 4×4 you can see even more of what the island has to offer in even more remote areas. But do you know why it’s deemed ‘boring’? Because there are only one or two bars on the entire island and they close by 22:30. Starting to see my point?

For all intents and purposes, you could die on Magnetic Island. I mean, you could die literally anywhere, but it’s a real possibility there, due to the nature of the terrain and the wildlife. During the Forts Walk – where you see the old WWII outpost – I climbed cliff-hanging boulders to get the best view of the island and therefore the best pictures, not just for you guys but also for myself to look back on. For the first time in a long time I really felt alive again and, even though the sun was beating down mercilessly and I was wearing jeans and shoes, I was jumping over rocks and climbing boulders continuously. I found boundless energy because I was happy, because I was exploring, because I was free. That is travelling. That is what it means to get away from your comfort zone and see the World. One slip on those boulders could have ended it all, but that is what it means to be alive. You just can’t get that spending your time in a club all night, every night.

The company I’ve kept here have been the type of people who share my view as well, regardless of their age. Melanie is 22 and Niklas only 20, yet they appreciate getting the real travelling experience as much as I do. It just goes to show that not all people are alike, although I have found certain nationalities to behave and appreciate different things to others. I am definitely looking forward to going to Tasmania with Nik in the coming weeks, and we hope to stay there for a good spell. What will occur after that is anybody’s guess. I would like to buy a campervan to see the remote areas of Australia, and hence have my proper travelling experience, but that bridge will have to wait to be crossed.

All I know is, I’m looking forward to hitting Asia more than you can imagine. There are paths there that have never been crossed.

For now though, stay frosty, Internet…

Leave a comment